Home » Google » Apps » Drive » Google Drive: Shared with Me is a Filter, Not a Folder

Google Drive: Shared with Me is a Filter, Not a Folder

Shared with me (1)

A common question I am asked is about  “Shared with me” in Google Drive. This is a filter, not a folder. You can not organize files in “Shared with me,” nor should you consider this a place to keep shared files.

Move Files

I frequently click on “Shared with me” (also with “Recent”) to see what is there. I then single click on a file and press the Z key to MOVE it into a folder so it is organized where I need it.

z key

Add Files

I would recommend getting into the habit of using SHIFT Z instead of z.
Shift Z

Shift Z ADDS files to a folder. This means it can live in multiple folders. Using shift z prevents you from accidentally moving it OUT of your collaborators folder.

Move or Add in Google Drive

2 thoughts on “Google Drive: Shared with Me is a Filter, Not a Folder”

  1. I tell my staff members to add files shared with them to their own Drives so they don’t have to look around in Shared With Me for their files. However I frequently am asked how to remove items from Shared With Me, instead of only adding them to their Drives. How can I do this?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.