Delete Google Classroom Classes

Delete Old Google Classroom Classes

Before you delete old Google Classroom classes remember you can reuse assignments from old classes. One trick I do is have a class with no students; Assignment Repository. When I am assigning to my class and it’s an assignment I want to reuse for sure… I ALSO assign it to my assignment repository class so I can reuse it more easily next year. If you do want to delete a class, I created an Add-on to quickly delete multiple classes.

Template

alicekeeler.com/listclasses

Why Delete

If you have too many Google Classroom classes it can be slower to load when you want to reuse a post since it is pulling up the list from all the active and archived classes.

When you want to reuse assignments it can be confusing as to which class you are reusing from. If you had 5 sections of Algebra 1 last year, they have the same assignments. You can delete 4 of the sections from last year and just keep one for the purpose of reusing assignments.

When you archive a class, students still have access to the class, but are not able to submit or interact in the class. If you want to cut off access, delete the class. (Remember my tip to create an Assignment Repository class for the purpose of reusing posts.)

Manually Delete

To manually delete a Google Classroom class you must first archive it. On the class tiles page of Google Classroom find the 3 dots in the upper right hand corner and choose “Archive.”

3 dots archive

Archived Classes

On the 3 lines menu in the upper left choose “Archived Classes”

archive in the menu

From the Archived Classes, click on the 3 dots on the tile and choose “Delete.”

Delete by clicking 3 dots from archived classes

Delete Faster

This is fine, but I have a lot of classes I want to delete and that is too slow. Archiving one at a time and the extra step to delete one at a time is too tedious for me.

alicekeeler.com/listclasses

I created an Add-on to list all of my active and archived Google Classroom classes. Make a copy of the spreadsheet template and use the menu (it can take a full minute for it to load) “List Classes” and choose “List.”

list classes menu

You will need to authorize the script. You are only authorizing YOURSELF access to your own files.

Click on Course ID

I do not want you to accidentally delete a class. If you delete a class you can not recover it. NOT. So be careful! You must single click on the Course ID that you want to delete. Then from the “List Classes” menu choose “DELETE class.”

 list of classes from Google Classroom and the list classes menu and choose delete

You will be asked to confirm that you do indeed want to delete the class.

Calendar Deleted

The calendar for that Google Classroom class will also be deleted.

Repeat

Because it is irreversible if you delete a class you will need to do it one at a time. However, this is still faster than deleting the classes manually.

Subscribe to the Alice Keeler Newsletter

Subscribe

alicekeeler.com/newsletter

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
%d bloggers like this: